Black Swan Review

Cast: Natalie Portman is already a very talented actress in my book, and honestly, one of my favorite actresses. I found out that she actually took the time to become trained in ballet for this role and I admire her dedication. Her performance didn’t disappoint me. I’m not a big fan of Mila Kunis, but I admit that she did a stellar job too. Vincent Cassel was a good choice for the film as well. And I was pleasantly surprised to see Winona Ryder who’s been making casual appearances in blockbusters lately (Star Trek anyone?)

Cinematography: Some of the camera shots and angles were just enough to give you a chill and make you anxious to know what’s going to happen next.

Overall: Captivates you until the very end! This film received such high praises from critics and I have to agree it deserved every last one of them. Though I must warn you, it may be difficult to grasp the meaning behind it all until you get to the end. Much deeper meaning than I expected. This wasn’t just the typical thriller. Very unique in presentation.

Criticism: I still had some unanswered questions once I finished watching (what’s the deal with the mother’s cake tantrum?), but luckily most of the answers could be found on the trusty imdb.com (discussion boards are key to a lot of insightful background info and theories).

Final Score: ***** 5 stars

One response

  1. Pingback: The JPD Approves Of These Films… | The JPD

Leave a Reply

