Dear Friend: What’s On Your Mind?

Today’s post a day/week topic:
Do you prefer to talk, text message, or a different communication method?

I’m the type of person who likes to reflect on her answer. I think before I speak. Something many people refuse to do in this day and age. I prefer to text and email because it gives me ample time to pose what I want to say in the way that I intend it to sound.

Even with friends and family members (the only exceptions being my parents and boyfriend), I would much rather write a letter, email, or text than talk on the phone. In-person is a different story… around friends, I talk TOO MUCH, at times making me seem a bit self-involved. Around family, I talk TOO LITTLE, therefore making me appear to be anti-social or apathetic in the eyes of some.

Taking the time to write it out (or rewrite) ensures that I don’t say too much or too little. I wish more people understood that I’m not trying to be rude when I prefer to email over talking on the phone. I just know that I excel in expressing myself through paper and pen… or in this case, blank document and keypad.

By the way, if you are the type of person who prefers to talk on the phone and you have a friend who is quite the opposite, it is utterly annoying when we text you and then you call us instead of returning the text (unless we told you to do so). Personally, I just don’t answer the phone when people do that with me. What if I was in a meeting? Or in class? What if I sent the message when I was at a stop light and I’m driving now? Okay, that was a lame example, plus I don’t drive anyway, but I hope you get my point.

And to lighten up the tension between me versus talkative phone lovers, here’s a funny comic from The Oatmeal illustrating 10 reasons to avoid talking on the phone. 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, and 10 are my favorites (pretty much all of them…lol). Hehe… I do 9 all the time.

Which communication method do you prefer?

Leave a Reply

