Without The L’Oreal You Remain The Same, Angel

I recently read an article on Glamour.com about a new study that says 1/3 of women are “makeup agoraphobic” (i.e. afraid to be seen without makeup). 60% of the 3,000 women surveyed wear makeup no matter where they’re going or who will (or won’t see them). Almost 50% of the women said that they’d rather wear a full face of makeup than go barefaced.

Interestingly, 1 out of 10 women said they wouldn’t allow their significant others to see them barefaced, “preferring to sleep with a full face on rather than remove it at bedtime.” Huh? For real? You’re really sleeping with makeup on? That’s disgusting…. very unhygienic. I can’t even imagine all the bacteria crawling on that pillowcase.

I used to be obssessed with putting on makeup like a lot of the women in the study (not to the point of sleeping with it on because I didn’t want my boyfriend to see me without it). But one early Saturday morning I was going to get my hair done and surprisingly, I just didn’t care. One of my guy friends happened to see me later that afternoon and said I looked beautiful without makeup. I heard the same from my boyfriend and other friends said my skin was so clear that I didn’t need any makeup. Now I prefer to go barefaced and if I do happen to put makeup on, I go for the natural look opting to just wear eyeliner and eyeshadow. Needless to say I don’t have to worry about making sure I’m made up before taking out my trash or going to get my mail.

What about you? Do you prefer to go sans makeup or never without it? Would you let your significant other see you without makeup?

Leave a Reply

