A Tribute To The Past Starting Anew

Guess who’s Howard University alumni now? It’s been a long and treacherous road getting here, but I did it! And in tribute to my mom who passed away during the summer after my freshman year of college, I made sure to honor her in some way.

It’s been hard the past 4 mother’s days not being able to show her how much I love her. The last mother’s day card I bought her, she wasn’t able to read because she was in a coma. A few moments before she passed away, as I held her hand, I whispered softly in her ear hoping she could hear me say that “I would be okay.” This year I wanted to profess to everyone on earth and to show the heavens how much I love her and what better way to do that then at my commencement ceremony. I hope she could see it and that she knows that I am doing “okay.”

I had a great time with family and friends after my graduation. I made sure to show (and tell) my dad how much I appreciated him and all the sacrifices he’s made to keep me in school.

A pretty nice gift, I’d say. With a special appreciation note on the plaque.

I’m so thankful I had parents who wanted me to dream big, always encouraged me,¬†and never pressured me to be or do anything I didn’t want to be or do. If it wasn’t for them and the values they instilled in me, I wouldn’t be a proud Howard alumni starting this new chapter in my life… starting anew.

Leave a Reply

