The JPD Approves Of These Films… Updated 7/31!

If you haven’t had time to see the latest released films, but have all the time in the world now, then I think you’ll find this list pretty handy! I’ve sifted through the gems and duds for you!  I’ve even got a list of what you should pass on watching. So if you’re looking for a good film for your next movie night, you may want to bookmark this!

The JPD Summer Catch-Up Movie List!

  • Action/Adventure
  1. Super 8 (Very nostalgic! Goonies/ET-ish)
  2. X-Men: The First Class (I was skeptical at first, but it’s a really good prequel! I’m ready for the next installment!)
  3. The Adjustment Bureau (If you haven’t seen it yet, rent it immediately!)
  4. I Am Number Four (Great story! It seems like there will be a sequel… I hope so!)
  5. Fast Five (Don’t know if you can rent it yet, but if you like the first two movies of the franchise, jump on this one. You won’t be disappointed. It’s that good!)
  6. Unknown (see review)
  7. The Next Three Days (One word: Awesome!)
  8. Unstoppable (Come on… Denzel’s in it, of course it’s going to be good!)
  9. Salt (Watch it… NOW!)
  10. Takers (This film will keep you entertained for sure! Excellent acting!)
  11. Sanctum (Pretty good!)
  12. *The Tourist (Even though this didn’t get very good reviews, I actually thought it was pretty good! Keeps you guessing to the very end. It’s really not as bad as critics pegged it out to be.)
  13. Season of the Witch (Really good! Kept my interest and my bf’s, of course.)
  • Drama
  1. For Colored Girls (The performances are excellent, but a good portion of the script was still in book form and hard to follow. The emotion is still there though. I hear that the book is much better than the film.)
  2. The Social Network (You already KNOW you should see this one.)
  3. Frankie and Alice (Worth seeing. See review)
  4. Conviction (Good, but throughout the movie you’ll probably think Hilary Swank’s character is not all the way there and quite a bit obssessed. Watch and you’ll see why.)
  • Western
  1. True Grit (I’m not even a fan of western movies, but I really liked this one!)
  • Comedy
  1. Bridesmaids (Funny! Though I think they showed the funniest parts in all of the commercials.)
  2. Easy A (Actually made me laugh. Smart and witty… I loved it!)
  3. You Again (Funny, but corny and mostly predictable.)
  • Rom-Com
  1. Jumping The Broom (Some of the acting is… hmm… bad. But the jokes are funny and the story is good.)
  2. *Friends With Benefits (SO FUNNY! Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis have a great chemistry and really good comedic timing. Nothing seemed forced. I love when singers turned actors don’t sound so scripted to the point that you know they were only chosen for the role based on their name/fame [i.e. Beyonce]).
  • Suspense/Thriller/Horror
  1. Black Swan (see review)
  2. Red Riding Hood (Once again, if you haven’t seen it. Rent it now!)
  3. Case 39 (A mild version of Silent Hill without the alternate universe. And surprise surprise… the same little girl is in both movies!)
  4. Devil (If you like movies that play with you psychologically more than visually (i.e. gore), see this one. I saw it months ago and still get creeped out when I’m on the elevator.)
  5. The Rite (Anthony Hopkins is GOOD. His performance reminds me of his character in Silence of the Lambs.)
  6. The Roommate (What you’d expect. It’s a safe bet for a suspense/thriller.)
  7. Frozen (Surprisingly good!)
  8. Let Me In (More funny than scary. The end wasn’t terribly disappointing though.)
  9. *Abandoned (Decent. Unfortunately, I was more focused on how frail Brittany Murphy looked during the movie. She looked kind of ill. It was distracting and kind of depressing just looking at her. I wasn’t the only one who had the thought either.)
  • Kids
  1. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Roddrick Rules (Funny and a pretty good sequel!)

Pass…

  1. The Other Guys (Boring… chuckled a couple of times.)
  2. Buried (Boring… terrible ending.)
  3. Hereafter (Boring…)
  4. 127 Hours (Boring… until the end.)
  5. Due Date (Boring… chuckled a few times.)
  6. Skyline (Good… until the end. Such a letdown. You could still watch it, just know the end sucks.)
  7. Big Mama’s House 3 (Terrible performance from Brandon T. Jackson and I usually like him. It’s surprisingly very High School Musical-ish and corny.)
  8. Battle: LA (A lot going on and confusing. Also kind of a letdown. Skyline is better.)
  9. The Green Lantern (Ok, so this one is 50/50. I personally thought it was corny, cartoonish, and desperately needed a plot update. My boyfriend liked it though. But I’d say it’s the same caliber as that last Hulk movie. It’s just not good enough.)
  10. Burlesque (Small town girl moves to Hollywood to make it big. If you’ve seen one, you’ve seen them all. The soundtrack is the best part. See review.)
  11. *Beastly (If you’re going to modernize a story like this, think it ALL the way through. Change some things from the original fairytale… please I beg you! A good portion of it didn’t make sense. The ending was disappointing. Enough said.)
  12. *No Strings Attached (I fell asleep on it, if that tells you anything. There were a few chuckles, but ultimately a good movie to nap through.)

**As I see the following films… I’ll update the list and let you know whether you should see it or pass.**

Movies currently/previously in theatres that I have yet to see…

  1. Water For Elephants
  2. Transformers: Dark of the Moon
  3. Larry Crowne
  4. Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
  5. The Hangover: Part 2
  6. The Tree of Life
  7. Bad Teacher
  8. Monte Carlo

Movies I can’t wait to release:

  1. Breaking Dawn (Part 1)
  2. The Help
  3. Cowboys and Aliens
  4. The Change-Up
  5. Horrible Bosses

*Updated!

Leave a Reply

