Driving Slow On Sunday Morning

Top: The Limited, Camisole: Ross, Skirt: Forever21, Necklace: H&M, Pumps: JustFab.com, Flats: Payless, Pants: Charlotte Russe, Bag: H&M

Have you ever opened your closet door and after searching for something you couldn’t quite pinpoint thought, “I have nothing to wear”?

Usually, I go through a cycle each week where I don’t have this realization until early Sunday morning  when I’m frantically running around my bedroom half-naked trying to get ready for church. My cell phone vibrates five separate times within three minutes because my fiance is calling it back-to-back in an effort to annoy me into being on time for once. I answer in an irritated tone, “I’ll be downstairs in three minutes!” which really translates to ten or fifteen minutes, because I still haven’t done my hair, put on my stockings, or packed a bag with the extra clothes I change into after church. Crap! What now?

There’s no time for creativity, just wear something fail safe that’s clean and conservative. Knee-length skirt: Check! Camisole: Check! Matching cardigan with 3/4 length sleeves: Check! I grab my purse and an extra bag and throw in jeans, a tee, shoes, and extra socks. Nevermind if any of it matches, out the door I go!

This time, I got home early Saturday night. I decided to attempt the dreaded Sunday morning outfit search earlier than usual. I searched through my section of skirts. “Hey! I haven’t worn this in awhile… Does it still fit? Yes!” Hmm… I just bought this sweater, I wonder if this would look okay with this skirt? “Actually, it does!” Add shoes and what about this necklace? Not too shabby! Well, that was easy. Might as well pack for after church too! Well… I think I’ll keep the sweater on and just switch to my black skinny jeans and flats. Simple! Why wasn’t it this easy before?

Leave a Reply

